Fashion – David Bowie

18 08 2008

Here’s another post of a song from the seventies (actually 1980 here, but hey what’s the diff) about the glamour of rock and roll. Fashion by David Bowie is from his critically acclaimed Scary Monsters album. Some call it Bowie’s “last great album” but they’re completely wrong. I had a huge Bowie-centric year a few years back and bought a lot of his catalog since the 80’s only to find that there are few missteps. Heathen and Reality, his two most recent albums from 2002 and 2003 respectively, are great even with a few skippable tracks each.

Anyway, I digress. This song was recently found in the ACA vaults. I did a Bowie tribute concert many years ago now and used “Fashion” as one of my songs. I thought the recordings were lost, but I found a box of old CD-Rs and re-imported the audio. The lead vocal is new, but everything else is the way I did it a few years back. I’ve gotten a lot better at home recording since then, so this isn’t the greatest sounding thing I’ve ever done, but it’s damn close to the original. I spent a long time with this recording trying to ape the sounds of the guitars and get the nuances of each part. The lead guitar solo on the original recording is super blazing and played by none other than King Crimson’s Robert Fripp. I admit to having a pinky sized guitar ability next to this bloke, but hey I’m not too scared to throw my hat into the ring.

I saw David Bowie in 2005 with my brother Phillip on the Reality tour and it blew me away. He prowled the stage like a cat and sang his ass off. Sounding half like a punked out Brit and half like a torch singer of old, he paraded through his entire discography and even played “All The Young Dudes” which he penned for Mott The Hoople and “Under Pressure” which he co-wrote with the amazing Freddie Mercury of Queen. I will be truly sad when this hero of mine finally passes away, but for now I hope he tours again so I can shed some more tears during “Life On Mars.”

Best, Peter – ACA


Actions

Information

One response

19 08 2008
Jessica

It is 9 in the morning, I am at work and all I want to do is crawl back in bed, but when I heard this song it made me want to get up and dance. Awesome Bowie rendition, though you say the quality is not so good, I think that gives it even more of an 80’s feel. Long live the 80’s!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

